Prologue, Part I: “A Thousand Beautiful Things”

The inspiration for this blog came to me a few weeks ago while I was listening to Annie Lennox’s “A Thousand Beautiful Things,” the first song on her album Bare.

In the first verse, she sings,

“Every day I write the list
Of reasons why I still believe they do exist
(A thousand beautiful things)
And even though it’s hard to see
The glass is full and not half-empty
(A thousand beautiful things)
So light me up like the sun
To cool down with your rain
I never want to close my eyes again”

Even though I won’t be sharing them all at once, the entries in this blog are going to become my own list of a thousand beautiful things – one a day, every day, for a thousand days – each offering a different interpretation of what beautiful means: abandon, acceptance, affirmation, awe, calm, commitment, compassion, contemplation, courage, creativity, defiance, determination, dignity, emotion, energy, grace, humor, inspiration, love, passion, peace, resilience, sadness, simplicity, strength, talent, triumph, unity, vulnerability.

Some days, I might share a photograph, a quote, a song, or a video. Some days, I might share an idea or a question. Some days, I might even share a challenge.

The hard part isn’t going to be finding a thousand beautiful things. It’s going to be choosing which thousand to share.

Leave a Reply

