Day 213: Sad Songs #SaySoMuch, Day II / “One and Only” – Adele (2011)

Even though it was never released as a single (and, unlike many of her other non-single tracks, never even charted on the Hot 100), this is still my favorite Adele song. It’s another example of a song that isn’t obviously sad.

The first thing that drew me to it was the beauty and vulnerability conveyed in its lyrics about reaching out to someone who’s afraid – or at least unable – to let go of the past and their own insecurities, but the more I times I listened to it, the more affecting the idea of being that person, unable to let go of the past or the current doubt and insecurity it helped create, became to me.

I’m actually including a couple of different excerpts from this one, because I honestly couldn’t choose just one.

“I don’t know why I’m scared
‘Cause I’ve been here before
Every feeling, every word
I’ve imagined it all
You’ll never know if you never try
To forget your past and simply be mine”

“I know it ain’t easy giving up your heart
Nobody’s perfect
(I know it ain’t easy giving up your heart)
Trust me I’ve learned it”

Leave a Reply

