Day 218: Sad Songs #SaySoMuch, Day VII / “The Letting Go” – Melissa Etheridge (1992)

Like Adele’s “One and Only,” which I posted earlier in this series, Melissa Etheridge’s “The Letting Go” is another “deep cut” that was never a hit (and that most casual fans probably never have heard) but still ranks (along with several other of her more understated, vulnerable cuts) as one of my favorite songs in her catalog.

“Piece by piece I take apart
This complicated heart
And I hope to find
Something I can prove is real
I can feel is truth
I can say is mine
That’s all I ever wanted to be
The closer that I got
The further I could see
But when lovers change
And the night feels strange
We choose our road
The letting go”

Leave a Reply

