Day 230: The Day Without a Post, Part II

If you follow my postings here with any regularity, you probably noticed that I didn’t make a post to the blog yesterday.

Yesterday was the second time in 229 days that I missed making a post for a day. The first time, I posted two entries the following day: one for the day itself and one for the day before, when I hadn’t posted anything.

This time, I did something different. I intentionally posted a blank post (The Day Without a Post, Part I), which might seem strange, but to paraphrase a bit from Mr. Shakespeare, there is a method to my madness.

When I started this project almost six months ago, my goal was to post something every day for one thousand consecutive days. I knew it was going to be a challenge (and I wasn’t sure I could actually do it), but I was willing to give it a shot.

Mathematically speaking, even with the two days that I’ve missed, I’ve still accomplished that goal more than 99% of the time for nearly eight months.It’s not perfection, but it’s still a solid record.

At the end of the day, the missing entry for Day 229 doesn’t affect the 228 entries (and actually more than that, if you also count all of the “Take a Look” postings) that came before it – and it isn’t going to affect the 771 that come after it. It was one day – in a thousand days. I’m still going to post something beautiful every day for a thousand days; it might just take me a little longer than a thousand days to do it.

I sometimes tend to be too much of a perfectionist, and I can sometimes get caught up in trivial mistakes and shortcomings instead of focusing on the larger context of success and accomplishment surrounding them.

When I posted a (belated) blank post for day 229, I did it as a visible reminder to myself to focus on the big picture – and not the small mistake.

